Hello Ghana

Hello Ghana

It was quite the adventure to get here, but now that I have arrived I want to be sure to embrace all that the next 10 days held for me. Kenya airways is behind me and a new adventure lay ahead.

My first two days in Ghana were spent in the country’s Capitol, Accra. Accra is a large and bustling city with literally millions of people. It’s a tropical city located on Africa’s Ivory Coast. Concrete and cinder block buildings cover every available inch of landscape. Many buildings started but left incomplete for one reason or another. Most properties are surrounded with walls and fences. Some topped with razor wire and others broken glass embedded in the mortar. Commerce is moving everywhere. Shops stocked to the rafters with goods, pallet wood shacks bountiful with fruits and vegetables, and nimble Ghanaian women with large vessels loaded with various items from fresh fish, to iced soda, or fresh baked bread balanced precariously on the top of their heads.

In Accra I connected with fellow missionaries from home in Missouri. They had flown in a few hours before me. We set up camp at a guest house, equal to a basic hotel. We planned and strategized for the upcoming week of ministry. Hosting us in Accra are the pastors of the International Church, Gaby & Jenan ________ two of the most wonderful people. They introduced us to a Ghana tradition, Papaya, chicken and rice that would make KFC’s cornel envious. It’s served with a pepper sauce that will be hard to live without back home.

Finally, after 2 days the time came for us to venture to Tamale in the Northern region of Ghana. A 12 hour drive that thankfully we avoided with a 1 hour flight aboard a small jet operated by Africa World Airlines. As we approached for landing it was immediately evident that we had left the big city. Green and lush, the landscape had shifted from concrete to coconuts; Palm trees and rolling hills of dense green vegetation. The skies were heavy and gray with moisture. The ground still wet from recent rainfall.

Driving from the tiny airport we head out into town to change US dollars into Ghana Cedis. Here the largest denomination is 50 which is equal to $10 US. So you can end up with stacks of cash after exchanging only a few hundred dollars.

From there we headed out of town, down muddy roads into the rural village of Kudula, where the generous people of Venture Church contributed money to help build the first Christian church in the village’s history. On the way we drove past mosque after mosque lining the streets, minerettes standing high. And now, for the first time, for such a time as this, a cross is hung for all to see. On Saturday I will return to dedicate this church and it’s people to Jesus. I’ll post the full story after.

Arriving in Kudula was exciting on multiple levels. Laying eyes on the almost completed church building painted purple and standing out starkly against the green horizon was level one. But then seeing the mud huts with straw roofs and small brick buildings scattered around the area was the next level. I broke into my suitcase to obtain a powerful tool in reaching any community…Tootsie Rolls.

Opening the bag drew a few children to me. As I pulled a wrapped candy from the bag they would bow their head and with hands cupped together lift them to receive the gift. Word spread like wildfire. Scores of little ones poured from yards, huts, and fields. They all carefully and politely crowded around waiting for their bit of “sweetie”.

With one small gift I had won their affection and as we toured the village the children walked with us. We passed by hut after hut where women were roasting ground nuts (peanuts), washing clothes or tending a fire. They looked at us with kindness and wonder, waving gently as we greeted them.

As we walked I felt a brave little hand reach up and take mine. And then another. Soon I had 6 kids, 3 on each side holding my fingers as we journeyed along . Each of my companions found themselves with a similar crew of village kids attached to them. They heard me say “OK”, and they repeated back to me, “OK”. When I lowered my voice as said it again a choir of small voices lowered theirs. And when I raised my voice to a falsetto, once again they followed suit. It made me laugh and then then laughed too. Though we could not speak the same language we communicated in joy. When it began to rain I thought for sure it would send the kids scurrying for their homes, but they just crowded in tighter around us. Walking the hills of Kudula, with 100 children in toe, I thought of Jesus words, “Let the little ones come to me…”. It was a magical moment, one that I will never forget.

As the rain picked up, soaked through, we loaded up into our vehicle and headed to our home away from home. We have been invited to stay in the home of Bishop Joe Amoto and his wife Elizabeth. They are gracious hosts and Elizabeth is a wonderful cook. When we arrived Elizabeth had a table full of roasted chicken and fish, rice, and a homemade spicy tomato sauce that I could have eaten exclusively. Conversation of the Lord’s goodness, laughter, joy and celebration consumed the rainy afternoon.

After our late lunch was a time to rest, recollect ourselves and freshen up. I laid down to test the bed and for 2 hours proved it’s purpose as I immediately fell asleep.

Upon evening we opted to go into town to buy some fruit and items. After dark in Tamale is a busy and active time. People lined the streets buying and selling their wares. Food is everywhere; fruit bountifully arranged on tables, meat being roasted over coals, and ladies parading a limitless variety upon their heads. The walkways and roadways are shared by scooters, animals, motorized rickshaws, and pedestrians. And of course the occasional vehicle. It’s an organized chaos, an erratic symphony of man, machine, and beasts. It’s an assault on the senses with so much happening in so many directions, but it is so wonderful to experience. The sights, sounds and smells all etching into my memories. I love this place.

After our night out we headed to our home. Elizabeth and her daughters had tea, cocoa, and fresh warm bread with various spreads out for us. We once again shared stories with our hosts and laughed until bed time.

Today has been a great day.

Leave a comment